FRANKFORT, Ky. – The Department of Transportation has opened a third regional driver’s license office in Jefferson County to expand capacity for residents of Kentucky’s largest subway area interested in obtaining REAL ID or standard ID badges.

The 4919 Dixie Highway Suite A office was previously a branch of the Jefferson County Office of Circuit Court Clerk. KYTC is taking over as part of the gradual introduction of driver license services across Kentucky.

The traditional model of licenses and permits issued by the district court office in each district will be phased out nationwide and completed by June 30, 2022. It is being replaced by a new, safer regional model where licenses, driving licenses and ID cards are issued and renewed by KYTC at regional driving license offices across the state. Regional offices offer Kentuckers more modern services and user choices, including the flexibility to travel to any regional office regardless of where they live, and the choice of an eight-year driver’s license. Twenty districts have made the change so far.

The Dixie Highway location is the 18th KYTC regional office opened to date. The Dixie Highway office hours are 8:00 am to 4:00 pm Eastern, Monday through Friday. It will initially only be opened by appointment and applicants can make appointments online at

The application for a REAL ID must be made in person at a KYTC regional office with proof of identity, residence and social security. Instructions for the required documents can be found at | IDocument Guide.